The Conservatives have lost a seat in the Rushmoor Borough Council local elections, with UKIP gaining a third seat.

The Conservatives, which hold the majority of seats on the council, clinched eight of the 13 available this year, with six of its defending councillors being re-elected.

There were positives and negatives for Labour, which had 13 councillors running for election this year, as the party won four seats, taking the Wellington ward seat from the Conservatives but losing its West Heath member to UKIP.

The Liberal Democrats, Green Party and Christian Party were also keen to fight the opposition but did not win any seats.

Defending Conservative councillors Jacqui Vosper, Bruce Thomas, Ken Muschamp, Martin Tenant, Sophia Choudhary and Alan Jackman cruised to victory in the return to their wards.

Mike Smith, who stood in place of the retiring Brian Parker in Empress ward, and Dave Gladstone, who replaced departing St Mark's councillor Rod Cooper, are the Conservatives' new faces.

However, Attika Choudhary lost her seat in the Wellington ward after being beaten by Labour candidate Jeremy Preece by 76 votes.

She said: "I am disappointed but I hope to be back representing my constituents soon.

"I have enjoyed my time as a councillor, I started in 2010 and have had a wonderful time working with the local residents and with the support from Rushmoor Borough Council."

Cllr Preece, who stood for Aldershot West in last year's Hampshire County Council elections, said he was "extremely happy" to be elected and said a huge amount of work had been done by the Labour group to help his campaign.

Labour's defending candidates, Terry Bridgeman, who had to juggle his election campaigning with his duties as mayor of Rushmoor, Les Taylor and Frank Rust also saw success as they retained their seats on their wards.

UKIP, which fielded eight candidates this year, successfully gained the West Heath seat through Barbara Donaghue. However, this seat was only won from Labour because Councillor Steve Smith, who was elected while a UKIP member, deferred to Labour during his term.

Cllr Donaghue, who was standing for election for the first time, will join fellow UKIP councillors Malcolm Small and Mark Staplehurst on the ward - meaning West Heath is once again entirely held by UKIP.

She beat the Liberal Democrats, Labour and Conservatives by 791, 649 and 358 votes respectively.

She said: "I'm elated, it's absolutely brilliant. It's all down to the hard work of the team, it's a fantastic team in our UKIP area and the people in the West Heath area have been so supportive and encouraging."

Peter Moyle, leader of the council, said he was "very happy" with the results and said the Conservative's success was down to them delivering their services to Rushmoor's residents.

He said: "We are sorry to lose Attika Choudhary but I am very pleased the Conservatives have successfully retained control of the council.

"We have had a good result against UKIP which is all part of a national surge and shows they don't have the support they think they have."