YATELEY is to be politically split down the middle with three wards going to the North East Hampshire constituency while Frogmore and Darby Green remain with Aldershot, under proposals for new Parliamentary constituency boundaries released yesterday, Wednesday.

Under the proposals from the Boundary Commission Aldershot would be left with 66,499 voters,3435 below the electoral quota for each seat, and it would be re-designated as a borough seat. North East Hampshire would cover all of Hart except Frogmore and Darby Green and Hawley and Blackwater. Four rural wards of Basingstoke and Deane would be tacked on. This seat would have an electorate of 73,840.

Hart Council Leader Coun. David Simpson commented: "I think it is a shame that Blackwater and Hawley and Frogmore and Darby Green have not been included with the rest of Hart so that the district could have one MP rather than two as at present."

The Commission will consider public representations made to it by March 14. They should be sent to the Boundary Commission for England, PO Box 31060, London SW1V 2FF or faxed to 020 7533 5176 or emailed to chris.ault@ons.gov.uk.