Anti-airfield campaigner Patrick Kirby could be joined by two like-minded independents on Rushmoor Council.

For Mr Kirby, defending the seat he won in Farnborough's Knellwood ward, has two fellow independents standing with him this time round, against Conservative and LibDem opposition.

There were other surprises when nominations for the council elections on May 2 closed: former Conservative candidate Paul Bourke, an Aldershot estate agent, is standing as a LibDem in Wellington ward, while veteran Labour warhorse John Card, a parliamentary candidate and leading Labour light 30 years ago, has emerged from political retirement to have another stab at council life, in Mayfield ward. Confusingly, he is standing against Lib Dem Craig Card - no relation.

Peter Sandy, a well known local campaigner who has featured in several Star stories, is standing as an independent in Heron Wood.

Poet Derek Asker is hoping for an independent gain in Empress.

No fewer than 119 candidates will be standing for 42 Rushmoor seats in the elections when the whole council comes up for grabs following ward reorganisation.

One notable absentee will be the Father of the

Council, John Debenham, whose service stretches back to before Rushmoor was created in 1974. Also likely to be absent after the election is Labour veteran Jim White, who has put his name forward in the unpromising (for Labour) Manor Park ward.

There are nine Green candidates in Aldershot while the independents include the perennial ‘King' Arthur Pendragon.

NOMINATIONS: * denotes retiring councillor.

Fernhill: *Alan Ferrier (Con), *John Marsh (Con), Ena Bocon (LD), Sheila Goldie (LD), Kenneth Muschamp (Con), Marjorie Pratt (LD), Simon Wright (Lab).

Wellington: *David Clifford (Con), *Eddie Poole (Con), *Francis Williams (Con), Paul Bourke (LD), Alex Crawford (Lab), Roy King (Lab), Philip Thompson (LD), Jerry Wines (Lab), Peter Woodcock (LD).

Rowhill: *Charles Choudhary (Con),*Roger Kimber (Con), *David Welch (Con), Peter Barnett (Green), Jill Clark (Lab), Julia Fowler (Green), Richard Ketley (LD), Lesley Pestridge (Lab), Carol Rust (Lab), Timothy Simmons (Green).

Manor Park: *Colin Balchin (Con), *Tony Gardiner (Con), *George Paparesti LD), Nickolas Burfield (LD),*Jim White (Lab), Simon Burfield (LD), Claire Burridge (Con), Carolyne Culver (Lab), June Smith (Lab).

North Town: * Keith Dibble, (Lab) * Sue Dibble (Lab), *Andy Straker (Lab), Andrew Chittock (LD), Michael Kilburn (LD), Adam Stacey (Green), Samantha Stacey (Green), Peter Still (Green), Keith Stott (Con), Neil Watkin (Con).

Heron Wood: *Donald Cappleman (Lab), * Mike Roberts (Lab), * Frank Rust (Lab), Adrian Ashurst (Green), Hedy Brennan (Con), Carrie De Fey (Green), Sandra Gardiner (Con), Ann Hunt (Green), Peter Sandy (Ind), Rosemary Stevens (Con), Denis Ward (LD). Grange: *Terry Bridgeman (Lab), *Stella Olivier (Lab), *Maurice Sheehan (Con), *Mike Smith (Con), Angela Branham (LD), Josephine Fraser-Fleming (LD), Barry Jones (Lab), Hazel Manning (LD), ‘King' Arthur Pendragon (Ind), Jon Weston (Con).

St John's: *George Dawson (Con), *Peter Moyle (Con), *Graham Tucker (Con), Paul Banner (LD), Barbara Darby (LD), Mary Lawrance (Lab), John Simpkins (LD).

Mayfield : *Craig Card (LD), *Neville Dewey (LD), *Charles Fraser-Fleming (LD), Roderick Baulk (Con), John Card (Lab), Clive Grattan (Lab), Robert Sullivan (Lab).

West Heath: *Josephine Murphy (LD), *Shaun Murphy (LD), Philip Collins (Lab), Barry Jenner (Con), Stephen Masterson (Con), Linda Neal (LD), John Skeggs (Con).

Empress: *Pat Devereux (Con), *Rosemary Possee (Con), *John Wall (Con), Derek Asker (Ind), Bryan Bell (LD), Stephen Chowns (LD), Stephen Cottingham (Lab), Derek Wickens (LD).

Cove & Southwood: *Brian Jupp (LD), *John Matthews (LD), *David Thomas (Con), Maurice Banner LD), Alan Chainey (Con), Keith Jenner (Con), Edward Shelton (Lab).

Knellwood: *Roland Dibbs (Con), *Patrick Kirby (Ind), Gwilym Anthony (Ind), Margaret Jupp (LD), Martin Kaye (LD), Keith Parkins (Ind), Montserrat Starling (LD), Steffen Stoneman (Con), Paul Taylor (Con). William Tootill (Lab).

St Mark's: *Nigel Baines (Con), *Geraldine Bullard (Con), *John Starling (LD), Diane Bedford (Con), Sean Clarke (Lab), Guy Eaglestone (LD), Alistair Mackie (LD).