Andy Scott has begun the process of re-building his Aldershot Town squad for next season by releasing four more fringe first-team players.

The Shots boss sprung a surprise by not offering a new contract to popular striker Bradley Bubb last week, as he set about beginning his summer clear-out early to prepare for another assault on the Skrill Premier next term.

And he followed that up on Tuesday by announcing that fellow striker Matt Paterson, veteran midfielder Martin Rowlands and youngsters Bobby Webbe and goalkeeper Luke Williams would follow him out of the ESS Stadium revolving door.

At the same time, however, the manager has opened talks with a number of last season’s squad to negotiate terms for next term, including 28-goal top scorer Brett Williams and Player of the Year, Chris Barker.

Of those released this week, Rowlands is perhaps the highest-profile having made 30 appearances for the Shots this season at the age of 35, without really showing the form which made him such a fans’ favourite in his prime at QPR and Brentford.

Striker Paterson is another summer recruit who failed to carry on his early-season promise, alongside Williams up front, and was farmed out on loan to Havant & Waterlooville towards the end of the campaign.

Scott’s attentions now turn towards the players he aims to retain this summer with much-vaunted Williams and defender Barker top of his priority list.

Williams has been watched by a number of top clubs this season, including MK Dons, on his way to becoming the Skrill Premier’s third top scorer, but both he and Barker have nailed their colours to the mast by triggering renewal clauses in their existing contracts which will keep them at Aldershot Town until 2015.

Popular midfielder Mark Molesley has a similar option which he is currently considering, while negotiations are also also under way to retain goalkeeper Glenn Morris, defenders Joe Oastler, Jaydon Gibbs and Anthony Tonkin, captain Craig Stanley, wingers Jordan Roberts and Adam Mekki, and striker Josh Scott.